Day 5: Wall to Segedunum (32 miles)

This promised to be a long, hard day- and with the recognised ‘best bits’ now behind me (and some quite grim bits of suburban Newcastle in front) it looked like being something of a trudge. In the end, it was a pleasant day’s walking, though at 32 miles it was on balance a little longer than I’d have liked…

Perhaps not surprisingly,  I opted for an early start and was on the road by 6.25. First,  a last look back in the direction of Chollerford:

image

Most of the first half of the walk was spent tracing the line of the road built in the eighteenth century on top of (and from) the Wall itself. It’s a fast road too, and though most of this section is spent in fields accompanying the road, the repetitive buzz of fast moving traffic took its toll:

image

Back to fairly level ground again:

image

One of the trials of this section is that the route is so straight that you can see for miles ahead which way you’re going. This can be a bit disspiriting when the scenary is fairly mundane. And yet for all that, there were a lot of lovely views:

image

image

And some nice views approaching Newcastle:

image

By now I was getting tired, and the slog into Newcastle centre was quite hard- though it was helped by the river and some classic views:

image

image

image

image

image

The last two hours were tough, but I made it to Wallsend (Segedunum) at 5.55:

image

Sadly, no ‘x marks the spot’ finishing line, so I had to make do with a couple of improvised selfies:

image

image

Overall, it’s a good walk with a world class central section. There’s plenty to keep you going but I was blessed with good weather: the sections through industrial Newcastle would have been particularly grim in the rain.  I’m glad I did it in four days: it was good to be able to get through the less attractive parts that bit quicker.

And so: the end. As I said, a good walk and I’d recommend it. But maybe not in the same league as the Coast to Coast…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment